Strawberry Jam (RECIPE)

July 14, 2010 § 1 Comment

My husband loves strawberry jam. His mother makes strawberry jam — freezer style — and when we would visit his parents, it would be such a treat to scoop a spoonful out of the square freezer container and onto a piece of toast.

Home-made strawberry jam made with fresh strawberries beats anything out of a jar, big time.

When I spotted green baskets full of gorgeous strawberries at our farmers market recently, I decided to grab a couple of pints and try making strawberry jam myself. I have never canned anything in my life, and while I want to try that adventure one day, I have to admit that I have a small fear that I will introduce botulism into our diet through a canning affair gone awry. So I went with a freezer jam recipe. And, having been spoiled by small-batch jams made by Bay Area producers, I prefer jam to taste like the fruit from which it’s made and not too sugary, so I used local honey from Snyders Honey instead of sugar, which gave the strawberry jam a more complex, less sweet and “real” strawberry flavor.

It’s perfect spread over a thin layer of butter on a thick piece of toast. Enjoy!

Strawberry Jam — Freezer Style with Honey

2 pints ripe strawberries, hulled

2 cups honey (preferably a darker, local honey)

3/4 cup water

1 1.75 ounce package of dried pectin (Sure-Jell brand is highly recommended)

Have ready sterilized jars or plastic freezer containers that can accommodate 5 cups of jam. (I used Gladware that I rinsed in boiling water and dried thoroughly.)

Place the strawberries in a large, heat-proof bowl and crush them with a potato masher or the bottom of a clean wine bottle. (Since we don’t have a potato masher but we do have many empty wine bottles in our household, I used the bottle. And, it’s fun to crush fruit  with a wine bottle!) Stir in the honey, mixing well. Let stand 10 minutes.

Mix water and pectin in a small saucepan. Bring to boil on high heat, stirring constantly. Continue boiling and stirring 1 minute. Add to fruit mixture and stir vigorously.

Fill all containers to within 1/2 inch of the tops to allow expansion while freezing. Wipe off edges of containers and cover immediately. Let stand at room temperature for 24 hours until set, then place in freezer. (I actually forgot to let it stand at room temperature for 24 hours and put it right in the freezer. It still turned out great.)

The jam improves after about 3 weeks in the freezer. Thaw overnight in the refrigerator when you’re ready to use it.

Quite tasty by the spoonful too!

Tagged: ,

§ One Response to Strawberry Jam (RECIPE)

  • mai truong says:

    Stephanie, I’m impressed you made jam. I’ve never even heard of freezer style jam! I’d always thought making jam was some kind of crazy elaborate process only completed by those with the deepest devotion to jam making. But the above sounds quite approachable! Thanks for sharing the recipe!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Strawberry Jam (RECIPE) at Together In Food.

meta